In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Services Patients & visitors Health library For medical professionals Quality About us
Text Size:  -   +  |  Print Page  |  Email Page

Quality Organizations

National Quality Forum (NQF) 

The National Quality Forum is a not-for-profit membership organization created to develop and implement a national strategy for health care quality measurement and reporting.  A shared sense of urgency about the impact of health care quality on patient outcomes, workforce productivity, and health care costs prompted leaders in the public and private sectors to create the NQF as a mechanism to bring about national change.

Established as a public-private partnership, the NQF has broad participation from all parts of the health care system, including national, state, regional, and local groups representing consumers, public and private purchasers, employers, health care professionals, provider organizations, health plans, accrediting bodies, labor unions, supporting industries, and organizations involved in health care research or quality improvement.  Together, the organizational members of the NQF will work to promote a common approach to measuring health care quality and fostering system-wide capacity for quality improvement.

<back to top>

Hospital Quality Alliance (HQA) 

The Hospital Quality Alliance (HQA): Improving Care through Information is a public-private collaboration to improve the quality of care provided by the nation’s hospitals by measuring and publicly reporting on that care.  The American Hospital Association (AHA); the Federation of American Hospitals (FAH); and the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), which launched HQA in 2002, continue to work closely with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and other stakeholders in this initiative. This effort is intended to make meaningful, relevant, and easily understood information about hospital performance accessible to the public and to inform and encourage efforts to improve quality.

<back to top>

Hospital Compare 

Hospital Compare is a website tool developed to publicly report credible and user-friendly information about the quality of care delivered in the nation’s hospitals.  This website was created through the efforts of the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), along with the Hospital Quality Alliance (HQA). The measures currently reported by hospitals under the HQA's initiative tell consumers and health care providers how often hospitals provide recommended care known to get the best results for most adult patients being treated for a heart attack, heart failure, or pneumonia, or having surgery.  In addition, Hospital Compare has tools patients can use to start a conversation with their physician or hospital about what the information means and how they can best get the care they need.

<back to top>

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), formerly known as the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), is the federal agency responsible for administering Medicare, Medicaid, and State Children's Health Insurance Programs, Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA), and several other health-related programs. 

<back to top>

The Joint Commission 

An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 15,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards.  To earn and maintain The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval™, an organization must undergo an on-site survey by a Joint Commission survey team at least every three years.

<back to top>

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States.

CDC’s focus is not only on scientific excellence but also on the essential spirit that is CDC – to protect the health of all people. CDC keeps humanity at the forefront of its mission to ensure health protection through promotion, prevention, and preparedness.

Composed of the Office of the Director, the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, and six Coordinating Centers/ Offices, including environmental health and injury prevention, health information services, health promotion, infectious diseases, global health and terrorism preparedness and emergency response, CDC employs more than 14,000 employees in 40 countries and in 170 occupations.

<back to top>

National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) 

The National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) is a secure, internet-based surveillance system that integrates patient and healthcare personnel safety surveillance systems managed by the Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion (DHQP) at the  Center for Disease Control (CDC).  NHSN collects data from health facilities to estimate the magnitude of adverse events among patients and healthcare professionals and adherence to practices know to be associated with prevention of healthcare-associated infections (HAI).  NHSN assists hospitals in developing surveillance and analysis methods that permit timely recognition of patient and healthcare personnel safety problems and prompt intervention with appropriate measures.

<back to top>

Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP)

The Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP) of the American Osteopathic Association has been providing medical facilities with an objective review of their services since 1945. The program is recognized nationally by the federal government, state governments, insurance carriers and managed care organizations. It is one of only two voluntary accreditation programs in the United States authorized by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).

<back to top>