In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.
Services Patients & visitors Health library For medical professionals Quality About us
Text Size:  -   +  |  Print Page  |  Email Page

Higher education

The Metro Louisville area boasts of four major four-year higher education institutions plus Jefferson Community College.

The largest, and perhaps best known, is the University of Louisville, a state-supported research university with a trio of campuses. The 287-acre Belknap Campus is three miles from downtown Louisville and houses seven of the university's 11 colleges and schools. The Health Science Center is situated in downtown Louisville's medical complex and houses the university's health-related programs and the University of Louisville Hospital. On the 243-acre Shelby Campus located in eastern Jefferson County are the National Crime Prevention Institute and the Information Technology Resource Center.

U of L, established in 1798, enrolls more than 22,000 students, about half of whom hail from Jefferson County, enrolled in more than 170 fields of study through 11 schools and colleges.

Spalding University, a four-year private university with a downtown campus, is a diverse community of learners dedicated to meeting the needs of the times in the tradition of the Sisters of Charity of Nazareth through quality undergraduate and graduate liberal and professional studies.

The Louisville campus, which now enrolls some 2,400 students, was established in 1920. Historically, Spalding University has offered extensive study programs for the part-time student. Teachers, librarians, business and professional persons, and others unable to attend college full-time, have earned degrees by attending the University's evening and Saturday classes.

Bellarmine University opened in 1950 on a 120-acre campus that was a part of a royal land grant from King George III to James McCorkle for his service in the French and Indian War. The school became one of the first in the Commonwealth of Kentucky open to all races. In 1963, Bellarmine opened the Thomas Merton Studies Center devoted to the works of Thomas Merton, a monk at the Abbey of Gethsemani. Today this internationally significant archive contains more than 20,000 items; over 100 doctoral dissertations plus masters theses and numerous books have been written based in part on work at Bellarmine's Center.

Bellarmine offers 56 majors plus graduate degree programs in education, nursing, physical therapy, executive MBA, and a dual MSN/MBA masters degree.

Indiana University Southeast, located across the Ohio River in New Albany, Ind., is attractive to some Kentucky students because it offers in-state tuition rates. The primary service area for IU Southeast includes nine Indiana counties: Clark, Crawford, Floyd, Harrison, Scott, Washington, Jackson, Jefferson, Orange; and three Kentucky counties: Bullitt, Oldham, Jefferson. Currently more than 7,200 students are enrolled in about 50 degree programs.

IU Southeast is located on a 180-acre tract at the foot of the "knobs" area of Southern Indiana. A Graduate Center in Jeffersonville, Ind. provides even easier access to courses in education, business, and continuing studies.

The Jefferson Community & Technical College District is the largest in the Kentucky Community & Technical College System. Made up of Jefferson Community College and Jefferson Technical College, the district has six campuses in Jefferson, Carroll, Shelby and Bullitt counties. The colleges offer a wide-range of academic and technical programs to prepare students to study for a four-year degree or to enter a career. eLearning (online courses) are also available.

The colleges offer more than 70 programs and 300 degree, diploma and certificate options including associate degrees, pre-baccalaureate education, diploma and certificate programs in occupational fields; adult, continuing and developmental education; customized training for business and industry; and distance learning.

Jefferson Community College opened in 1968. JCC serves more than 15,000 students a year and offers a wide-range of general education courses leading to Associate in Arts and Associate in Science degrees that allow students to continue their studies at other colleges and universities. It also offers an array of occupational programs leading to Associate in Applied Science degrees that allow students to step directly into careers.

JTC offers non-traditional programs and associate degrees, certificates and programs designed to meet the growing needs of business and industry. JTC also has customized business and apprenticeship training programs.